California Lutheran University's Student Newspaper Since 1961

The Echo

California Lutheran University's Student Newspaper Since 1961

The Echo

California Lutheran University's Student Newspaper Since 1961

The Echo

ASCLUG Run-off Election results

Following last week’s election, Associated Students California Lutheran University Government senate Run-off Elections happened on Tuesday, April 2, and Wednesday, April 3. 

Student engagement coordinator Yulissa Alvarado said the Run-off Election was called after candidates who ran for executive cabinet offices did not receive more than 50% of the votes counted.

“Neither candidate running for ASCLUG Senate Director or ASCLUG Programs Board Director received more than 50.0% of the votes counted. Therefore, a run-off election will occur for both positions. The run-off election will take place concurrent with the Senate Elections timeline” Alvarado said in an email interview

Alvarado mentioned some of the projects that the senates worked on last year, which included new patio furniture for the student union, water refill stations in residence halls and free laundry among many other projects they are currently working on. 

Our student senators are a big part of our University. The board has the power to evoke a great amount of action on the CLU  campus. Through the use of both bills and resolutions, the Senators examine the student needs and make sure they are met. Each year, the Senate receives a capital expenditure budget from student fees allocated by the ASCLUG Constitution,” Alvarado said in an email interview.

Run-off Election results were released on April 3. According to a press release from ASCLUG, a total number of 482 students voted in the Spring Executive Cabinet Elections. Candidates who did not receive more than 50% of the vote during the runoff election were voted in based on majority by the ASCLUG Elections Committee.

Results are as follows:

ASCLU Senate Director:

Ashlyn Bryson-Beane 47% (Accepted)

Samantha Hernandez 44%

ASCLU Programs Board Director:

Ali Gregory 50% (Accepted)

JJ Cambaliza 41% 

Sophomore Senator

Jose Hernandez 87% (Accepted)

Junior Senators

Ashlyn Bryson-Beane 37% (Declined)

JJ Cambaliza 25% (Accepted)

Krista Gleason 23% (Accepted)

Senior Senators

Estefani Gutierrez 81% (Accepted)

Joshua Sanchez – Majority Write-In (Accepted)

Commuter Senator

Cheyanne Rodriguez 82% (Accepted)

International Senator

Avya Pahndi 83% (Accepted)

Transfer Senator

Luis Perez 85% (Accepted)

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Echo Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *